The Digital Photo Guy

New Palomar College Classes and Webinar Goodies

by on May.02, 2010, under Monday Morning Tips, Photos, Photoshop CS2/4

Topaz Labs Adjust 4 for Portraiture

This weekend, I had the opportunity to photograph two perfectly delightful sisters at the Deer Park Winery Auto Museum. Nicole works at the winery and brought her older sister Paola. We only had about 40 minutes so it was a bit rushed but, for a POC (proof of concept) shoot, it turned out well. My idea was a hip-hop look to complement their dark Latina complexion, dark eyes and dark hair. Being 20 somethings, the concept worked well for them.

     

Keep in mind, we didn’t have a MUA (make-up artist) and we were in a dark, cavernous barn-like building crammed with dozens of vintage American convertibles. I wanted to show some of the background but not enough to distract. In the middle photo of Nicole, my fill light, for some reason, didn’t create a catchlight in her eyes. I may try to add one with PS. Tell me how I did overall.

What’s the Difference Between a Fairy Tale and a Southern Fairy Tale?

If you don’t know, join Roger Cicala, CEO of LensRentals.com, the largest lens rental business in the US, for a FREE 1-Hour Lenses and Gear Webinar on Saturday, May 15 at 11AM CDT (9AM Pacific Time, 10AM Mountain Time, Noon Eastern Time). Roger will explain how to make rationale and reasonable decisions when upgrading your gear. He does so in his inimitable Southern drawl, punctuated with humor and wit. Don’t miss this webinar because, with Roger’s schedule (his other job is MD), it will be a while before he can fit in another webinar.

There will be cool give-aways including an 800+ page Photoshop World Workbook containing all slides, notes and examples from every class at PSW Las Vegas. We’ll also give away a BlackRapid camera strap, the most innovative camera strap in 50 years.

Palomar College Summer Classes

The summer schedule is posted at Palomar’s Venture site.

Photoshop Elements for Digital Photographers (Lite), June 1 & 3, Two 90-minute sessions

Photoshop Elements for Digital Photographers (Lite), June 26, One 3-hour session

Digital SLR for New dSLR Owners, June 8 & 10, Two 90-minute sessions

Digital SLR for New dSLR Owners, July 17, One 3-hour session

Share

Comments are closed.



Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!